Logo

1989 3.0 OMC outdrive not working after grinding noise

djshawnc

I'm new to boating, so any information is probably useful! I have a 89 Bayliner Capri 21' Cuddy with a 3.0. I was on the river when I heard a light vibrating noise. I thought it was no big deal because the night before I put caps on the battery and they weren't too tight. I drove just fine for about 30 minutes and at one point I gunned it and I heard a loud sound. I killed the throttle and slowly brought it back up. The boat was moving very slowly and then eventually, the prop stopped spinning. I checked the prop and the bolt holding it was loose. I tightened it and still nothing. I recently learned (through reading forums) that I should not be spinning the prop when the trim is up, and I have been doing that often because the river gets low. Any suggestions of what it is and what I can do? Thanks.

Re: 89 OMC outdrive not working after grinding noise

i have an 89 omc 4.3ltr and had possibly the same problem this year vibration and then no drive i ended up finding that when you put it into drive with engine off the prop will not lock into forward or reverse i removed the leg and manualy shifted it and it locked up fine eventually i found the engine coupler splines were gone and had to replace the coupler now fine