Logo

omc stringer electric shift problems

glenn_1

Hi, i am new to this, but i am hoping that someone can help me. I have a 1977 stringer stern drive, electric shift. I had the upper gear case rebuilt last year and everything was working perfect until yesterday. I was cruising along, as normal, and all of a sudden the motor started to rev up and it seemed to be acting the same as last summer when the upper gear case went, but now i still have reverse gear. It still shifts into forward gear and the boat will still move but only while idling. As soon as i give it some throttle(1000 rpm or more) it seems like it is slipping. would anyone out there know what could possibly cause this and point me in the right direction of what to look for.

Cheers

Glenn

cross your fingers, Glenn...

sounds like you spun a prop hub.

try a new or spare prop, and don't let anyone tell you the old pin type props don't have a friction hub, because they do

the rubber rots with age and the hub slips

my first thing would be like hystat said prop hub my second conclusion might be the internal shaft hub with spring which is inside of lower unit a manual will help you alot on these electric shift the lower unit are easey rebuilds once you do your first one but you deff need a manual are a break down schematic of lower unit, you have two magnets in your lower assembly 1 is forward and one is reverse when they are energized they expaned to force a spring against the gear you are in which makes your boat go, if your forward magnet is week are your spring is weak are broke it can cause the same situation,, but start with prop hub first chances are that is your fix

How about this:

Place a board(s) between the prop and the under side of the anti-cavitaion plate.

Put a socket on a breaker bar and put some torque on the prop nut.

If it's a spun hub, then wouldn't the prop nut/prop shaft turn and the prop won't?

Does the nose cone thread onto the prop shaft, like on the old Chryslers?