Logo

My 120 won't start anymore, Help

KenL

First of all I am not a mechanic, but since I don't have an abundonce of cash, I do all my own work.

My 1984 Mercruiser 120 was working perfectly for the past couple of months. After driving over to the marina this weekend to drop off some people...it won'r start. Won't even turn over. I here clicking, which I assume is the solinoid but I am no expert. I bought a manual to see if I can deduce what parts are what before sticking my screwdriver down to jump the connections. I have done this hundreds of times on outboards but never had an inboard until this one.

Any ideas I should check before pulling this thing apart?

Ken

try a different battery,soft click(slave solenoid) loud crunch(starter solenoid) ,
check engine oil , remove sparkplugs to check for water,
start at the slave and jump the larger Red/purple and yel/ w stripe,should turn the starter

tried another battey, no luck. I even hooked up my charger and set it to 'boost", same sound.

I jumped the slave and other than some sparks, nothing, not even the a click.

the sound is more of a CLACK when I turn the key.

Checked the oil, brand new and up to the full line...I was watching the oil preasure too and no problems there before this happened..same with temp.

Last edited:
slave should have tripped the start solenoid, either the starer got wet at some time and is bad or the solenoid is bad.

Oops, my other post about the age of the engine stated a conversation like this one...

I am moving chiefalen's post here and commenting on it.

I had that motor for 5 years. But pushing a stringer, now i have a merc 3.0. them 20 hp doing my bidding makes my boat feel and run so much better i couldn't believe it.

Why the chief just wrote that chit is, even if this motor is toast your can get a good 3.0 for under a grand fair price 800.

Ok to your problem:

1- The battery charged?