MarineEngine.com - Your online store for all types of marine engines and boat parts.
PHONE ORDERS
Monday - Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST
Click for TOLL-FREE Number
Online Checkout
Special $9.95 Flat Rate Shipping
(800) 209-9624 | Home | Contact | Shipping | Returns | Cart View your shopping cart.
Part Number Search
Shop by engine/drive part number.
Original & matching parts for sale.
Manuals & Accessories
Shop by description, item number
or manufacturer's model number.
Boat Repair Forum Boat Repair Forum   Boat Video Gallery Video Gallery

Click for Johnson Evinrude Diagrams, Parts and Manuals!

Default 1983 Evinrude 7.5 hp

My '83 evinrude 7.5 likes to leave me stranded on the river. I put new plugs in it yesterday. It started the first time after about 8 pulls. We ran it about 1/2 hour, then anchored for about 2 hours. It then wouldn't start. When I squeezed the priming bulb, it did not get solid. Could it not be getting fuel?
    I'm new to this. Could someone recommend a source of basic information about operating, maintaining and storing an older outboard?

Default Re: 1983 Evinrude 7.5 hp

I think your best bet is to get an OEM manual, it will help ansewer a lot of questions, and guide you through repairs.
    The troubleshooting section will also help you with problems.

it seems like you have compression and also spark
    which leads me to think it is a fuel issue just like you stated the bulb did not get hard.
    (just to be sure check compression, and spark the spark should jump a 7/16" of a gap with a bright blue spark with a zap)
    if both of the above are correct i would clean your carb there may be some dirt in it.

How do I check the compression and spark? Remember I'm new to this but want to learn to do it myself (in other words, dumb and broke).

to check for compression you can buy a compression gauge at local stores such as canadian tire or walmart