Logo

im an idiot!! Need input mercruiser stern 19710 140

zachyfarms

Well so you know the story.I am new to boats AND an idiot I just purchased 1971 Bayliner I/O 140hp, 3.0L with mercruiser stern drive. well the engine was "recently rebuilt" i place in quotes cause now i question everything. The entire stern was not connected since engine rebuilt seller says just didnt get to putting back on the stern is in great shape ready to go.. I connected drained gear oil to find water in it like lots like it dumped pure clean water for a few seconds before oil started coming out milky. small metal shavings. I figured drain and see how goes.. started right up engine purrring nice. but the is a loud clank pop clunk every few seconds from upper end of stern. Wow the upper gears are broke missing teeth shavings everywhere grooves into the chamber walls near gear edges. This guy sold me good.

anyways with this damage and water saying seals need be done lower too. any recommendations. I spnt 1000 on boat which was all my money right now. Ironically the stern seems to cost more then the damn boat. cand new gears be put in and is that even worth it with damage to walls inside. can used units be found anywhere. its a 1971 so is it a alpha bravo 1 just a mercruiser stern. Seems every site has a differnet date range for the same names. stern has 17 spline shaft into motor from u joints. i think it has 24/20 tooth gears and it has 13 spline for the lower unit shaft to upper. help with any direction as to find new stern, fix this one, where to find cheapest parts and what freaking stern is this Ie. alpha bravo etc..

Thank You and if i sound bitter cause my wife is getting to rub this one in my face on fathers day. and I told her we would be out this week on the boat. NOT

Re: im an idiot!! Need input mercruiser stern