Logo

help with basic tune up

roncog

I'm new to this and new to boats. i have a johnson 9.5 hp (mq-14e) that needs a tune up.

i have ordered the coils, points and condensors from this site. i am hearing a lot about making sure the timing is not thrown off when i replace the points.

anyone have any suggestions to help me from completely screwing this up?

also, can anyone please help me with some instructions on changing the oil?

thanks!

when u set the points at .020 u have set the 'timing'...provided flywheel keyway is positioned right...very simplethe secret to points,is CLEAN/oil free.
also,if u do a search on this site...u will find all u need...

Changing the gear oil.

With motor standing upright remove the drain and level screws ( identical broad slotted head screws) Do not remove the other smaller screw! Allow all the oil to drain.
If the unit has no leaks the oil should come out "clear and bright". If its milky it is due to water ingress which must be investigated and remedied.

Refill using a squeezable bottle, or a special pump, via the drain hole until it flows from the top. refit the top screw, remove the bottle/pump and quickly refit the drain screw.
You should use new seals on the screws.

Oil is a high viscosity (around SAE 80W90 EP) outboard gear oil.

Points and timing.
As said above provided the flywheel key is fitted Ok the correct gap will set the timing correctly. Set the gaps when the points are open at their widest . There may be a mark on the cam. Must be scrupulously clean ... no finger prints even.

Correct setting is when the feeler gauge can be drawn between the points with just a slight drag.

Positioning of the coils is important. Suggest you carefully mark the positions before you remove the old ones. Tighten the flywheel nut to the correct torque.

Last edited:
(Point Setting Of Magneto Models)
(J. Reeves)