Logo

1981 280 tilt wiring question

mmarks00

hety guys i have a 81 bayliner with the 280 out drive when i bought the boat someone has been doing work to the wiring on the tilt unit.looks like they may have wired the two relays wrong and melted a few wires.i removed the old relays and checked to see if the motor worked for the tilt.it will work when i test it directly to the battery it will go up and down.now for the big question i tried to rewire the relays using the book and the wires do not look the same.wondering if any one has a picture our a diagram of the tilt unit.thanks

Re: 280 tilt wiring question

i would like to say thank you very much.i am new to the boating world and this is my first fixer upper and this is the best place for help.everyone here has been real help full in me getting my boat running,just wanted to say thanks.

I should point out that the adjustment of the cutout switch i.e., "end position switch" is easy, but a bit fussy. It's not obvious, but the mounting for this switch also doubles as the adjustment. Make sure this switch works before powering up the unit for a test.
Wiring this switch incorrectly is a source of amusement. If you aren't familiar with the nomenclature... N.O. is the normally open contact, while N.C. is the normally closed, which means that there is continuity between the C and NC when the plunger on that switch is expended and continuity between C and NO when the plunger is depressed.

Last edited:

i would like to say thank you very much.i am new to the boating world and this is my first fixer upper and this is the best place for help.everyone here has been real help full in me getting my boat running,just wanted to say thanks.

You are welcome. I hope you get the boat up and running soon and start enjoying it. Fixer-uppers are only fun for a short time, and the fun usually ends when the bills keep piling-up and you see no progress....;):eek:

Last edited: