Logo

Too good to be true

kountzelightdiesel

Contributing Member
I found and 85 model 3.0 no starter I checked it over engine was free and the oil was clean the price was reasonable so I bought it and brought it home.

I put a starter on it hooked water to it and got it cranked. I made a few checks and found that the oil had went milky.

Is it likley it has a blown head gasket? Or worse a hole in the water jacket?

Any thoughts?

I will first thing in the morning I am if it is a head gasket i am doubting it will show on on compression the engine is very balanced. As a mechanic my first thought was electrolysis. I see it put pin holes in cylinder liners even in a closed cooling system. That is my curse assume the worst. lol

electrowhat?

probably freeze cracked block, or badly warped head from serious overheat.

Or just water in the oil.-rain

Pressurizing the cooling system to 10 psi the only way to find the leak.

Hate to say it, but it sounds like the previous owner had a problem with it, and changed the oil, and removed the Starter so it couldn't be fired up in his presence.

I am always suspicious of new clean oil in an engine for sale. What I want to see is clean old oil.

Bruce.

Hystat how do you pressure test that type of cooling system?

After before you said rain water I thought the same. When I went and looked at it I just pulled the stick didn't actually check the level. I went back and checked it after I found the milk and the level is the same. I think the water may have already been there just not emulsified yet. Keeping my fingers crossed its rain water. It was sitting outside with no engine cover for several years. It is a rare thing if it gets cold enough here to freeze an engine.