Logo

1978 454 merc with merc trans II and 330 outdrive

days_away

"Just bought a 78 Hawaiian with the 454 in it,It has issues which manual would be the best for this set up.Something with detail brake downs and good internal info not the tech manuals that say to get tool,J or stuff like thatin it i'm a good mechanic but my tools are not alphabetized.
Thank you.Sherman"

"I invited Sherman to post thi

"I invited Sherman to post this here, as I know nothing about this unit. If any of you do, please chime in and give him a hand.
Rick"

The engine is a 454 Mercruiser

The engine is a 454 Mercruiser serial #4889754 model #MCM 330.
The transmission is a Merc trans II serial #12624 model #MCM-D
The outdrive is a Mercruiser 330 serial #4895854 model #1-50R

"Sherman, this is basically an

"Sherman, this is basically an I/O connected to a forward placed engine via what some may call a "Jack Shaft". I believe that Holman Moody may have done something similar with the Volvo drives way back when.

What is it that you are trying to achieve or repair here?

."

"Engine wont turn over acts li

"Engine wont turn over acts like it is siezed up,But the prop would not spin either by hand in either forward nor reverse and it should free spin either way in nuetral and oneway or the other in gear right,I think.
The boat ran great four years ago when parked then thepo tried to start it and it was like this.I have not seen any thing like this transmission that is on it and the outdrive is huge compared to a alpha or brovo vp omc.
I am kind of thinking maybe something in the tranny is siezed up or stuck."

"[b]Quote: "I have not see

"Quote: "I have not seen any thing like this transmission that is on it and the outdrive is <u>huge</u> compared to a alpha or brovo vp omc"

OK, Now I have another thought since you mention how huge this is!