Logo

DD 671 Horse Power Ratings

don_robertson

I'm looking at a boat that

I'm looking at a boat that has a Detroit 671 engine. The listing states that this engine is rated at 135 hp. I've seen many listings for boats with 671s rated at from 135 to over 700 hp.

I'm new to diesels in general and Detroit diesels in particular. Can someone explain what governs the horsepower rating of these engines and how they can be rated over such a large range? Is there a book or web site somewhere that can help me learn more about them before I commit to buying the boat? I'm also looking for a source opf performance specs for this engine - including a fuel consumption curve.

Thanks in advance for your help.

"Howdy,
I'm no 6 71 guru

"Howdy,
I'm no 6 71 guru, just an old dog mechanic that has worked on a few so these are my ramblings and not much here in specifications. You don't say what year an engine we're talking about or if it is an inline 6 or a V-6. That would have something to do with horsepower ratings and the ability to alter them. But we'll proceed anyway.

Although it might be possible to obtain 700hp from a 6-71 I don't know that you would want to own one. It would be a finicky, delicate little fuel gobbler that would eat you right out of your boating budget. I would term a 700 hp 6-71 a "race" engine. Exotic.

With that said, there is a great range of power ratings for most diesel engines depending on need and preference and the 6-71 is no different.

The basic ability of any engine to produce horsepower comes down to fire. How much fire can you make in a given amount of time? The fire triangle consists of: Fuel-oxygen-ignition source.

We all know that the ignition source is compression and, although higher compression in a "performance" engine DOES contribute to increased horsepower rating, for this discussion we'll concentrate on the other two factors of the fire.