Logo

b03 Johnson Safe mode

controlu

"50 h.p. 2-stroke The top cyli

"50 h.p. 2-stroke The top cylinder looses spark after running for a while, and then only fires every now and then. Bottom cylinder runs fine. Mechanic tells me it is getting hot and going into "safe mode", needs cleaned out at $1,500. I never get/got a hot horn, and does "safe mode" only cut out one cylinder?"

"i'd say thats way too hig

"i'd say thats way too high,...u may just need a new wtr pump kit.!...S.L.O.W. mode,WOULD,just cut one cyl.....not getting a horn,is not that unusual...when,did u last test,...the horn?"

i am no expert but my 60 hp ev

i am no expert but my 60 hp evenrude was doing the same thing and it turned out to be the water pump once that was fixed had no problem and one more thing fine your self a good machanic that is not into ripin people off

"I suggest that you look aroun

"I suggest that you look around somewhat for a different "mechanic". Things to do yourself that doesn't require rocket science mentality.......

Check spark plugs for traces of water. Check compression. Let us know what you find here.

Describe exactly what the spark plugs look like. What make and type (number) spark plugs are you using,and at what gap?

Spark plugs removed, check spark which should jump a 7/16" gap with a strong blue lightning like flame.... a real SNAP! Does it? No tester? Read on.

(Spark Tester - Home Made)
(J. Reeves)

A spark tester can be made with a piece of 1x4 or 1x6, drive a few finishing nails through it, then bend the pointed ends at a right angle. You can then adjust the gap by simply twisting the nail(s). Solder a spark plug wire to one which you can connect to the spark plug boots, and a ground wire of some kind to the other to connect to the powerhead somewhere. Use small alligator clips on the other end of the wires to connect to ground and to the spark plug connector that exists inside of the rubber plug boot.