Logo

454bs not turning up

boatofus

"Hello every one. This is my f

"Hello every one. This is my first time posting on this site but have been reading it for a while. All of the info that is posted here has been so very useful to me being that i like to do my own repairs. Recently after a long day of fishing i was headed back to the barn when i had to slow down to let another boat go by and when i went to go back up on plane my port motor wouldn't go past 2000 rpms and was breaking up. Being that I had just filled up that morning i figured it was a fuel problem. So i changed all of my filters including the Oberg, witch was a little cloged, and took it out for another spin. Same issues happened<font face=""arial,helvetica""></font><font face=""courier new,courier""></font><font face=""times new roman,times,roman""></font>}. Changed the cap and rotor, witch seem to have a little corrosion on the terminal(1 year old tune up).As i am changing these parts i noticed a vacumm line running to the TB from I guess would be some kind of ingnition or timing control. Well that tube was laying under the Heat exchanger hoses and was crushed. I went and bought a new hose witch i extended about 7inches so i could run it over the hoses and not risk crushing it again. The Starboard engine was runnnig fine but had the vac hose in the same position. Once I put the new hose on she purred like a kitten. Has anyone had this type of issue before. Sorry for the long post."

"chris:

it would help a bit

"chris:

it would help a bit if we had a better idea which engine you had. guessing, a mid 90's TBI setup, probably with a MEFI-1 computer?

The only thing I can think of with a vacuum line would be the fuel pump regulator.

Thanks for the data points."

"Makomark,

Sorry for the l

"Makomark,