Logo

Charging System Question

mbgator

"Newbie here asking a question

"Newbie here asking a question. Been lurking on this forum for a while and have an issue that I'd like some help with.
We have a 1984 Carver with twin Crusader 220's. I'm running two 12v engine batteries, and twin 12v house batteries with a shore-power charging system feeding all 4 batteries while docked. I'm also running twin battery isolators. This was all rigged by the previous owner.
When running and docked away from our marina, the house batteries run-down pretty quickly. Apparently while under-way they are not receiving any charge from either engine alternator.
Here's my question: Is this normal? Should one engine charge house batteries while the other charges engine batteries, or not? I can't find any reference in my owners manual for this.

Thanks one and all for your help. This is a fresh-water boat (Lake Michigan) and only used on the weekends.

Mike"

Is it normal?
Kinda hard to s

Is it normal?
Kinda hard to say based on the info provided. I would say you can make it much better but we need to hear/see the details to help find the problem areas.

There was a recent post on the crusader board about just this topic. suggest reading it and then figure out exactly what you have on your current setup.

"Apparently while under-wa

"Apparently while under-way they are not receiving any charge from either engine alternator.

This is easy to measure. You need to put a dc voltmeter on the house system. Get readings with engines off and then running at 1500rpm.

"Thank you gentlemen. I will g

"Thank you gentlemen. I will get back to the boat this week, list/document the wiring from batteries out and back and re-post.

I was told that the previous owner was a senior engineer at GM in Detroit who was afraid of battery failure and over-compensated. But I'm not sure the system is installed correctly."

"Michael,
Knowing the battery

"Michael,