Logo

Mercury 75 wont start

k3v1n123

"Hi all this is my first time

"Hi all this is my first time here for posting hope someone can help me ..

My problem is i have just bought a boat with a mercury 75 outboard on it im not sure of the year but i have the manual and its says 1986 but it could be a little newer ? The boat had a service 3 years ago and since then has never been started and has been in storage for all that time, Should i get it serviced or would it be ok just to start. I have checked that it engages gears properly and it seem ok.

I connected a battery but all i get is a clicking noise the starter moves up but wont get it started could the battery be broken ? I had it runing for a few seconds but i had to use the pull cord and by turning the key at the same time it sort of started. Any ideas what it could be ??

Thanks

Kev."

Try a different battery if it

Try a different battery if it does the same thing the starter is bad. I would lube the cylinders good with two stroke oil if its been setting that long before cranking it a lot.

I assume your asking about lub

I assume your asking about lubing the cylinders. Take a good spray bottle fill it with 2 cycle oil and spray in spark plug holes then turn over by hand to lube the cylinders. If the cylinder walls are dry and you crank it a lot it could cause ring problems/damage.

Ok i have lubed the bore and i

Ok i have lubed the bore and i have put on a new battery this is a car battery it turns over it fired up once then cut out straight away the battery has now died so i have put it on charge. Any other ides what i could do or check that it is working fine.

"Hi just an update on this had

"Hi just an update on this had another play about with it and its now running it has a bit of smoke coming from it not a lot but its not like it should be, Could there be to much 2 stroke oil in it?

Regards
Kevin."

"smoke is normal for a 2 strok