Logo

Merc 57 1986 water ingestion questions

jiggamurf

Hi i have a 1986 merc 5.7L wit

Hi i have a 1986 merc 5.7L with an alpha 1. this engine ingested water. this is a freshwater boat i am fairly new to fresh water as ive done only salt water so my first thaught was exhaust manifolds. now engine symptoms are as follows. engine runs roughly and white steam comes out valve covers.. i was only at trolling speed when this happend so engine was not eaven completly warm (according to guague). i stopped engine and when i attepmped to start engine was locked. i brougt back to shop. now if that was the exhaust manifolds the engine would have ran fine am i correct because exhaust would have pulled water in one direction (out) due to the rpm of an engine am i correct. now i pulled the manifolds and risers off to test. they seem to be good but is there an actual test you can do to them?? oh yeah by the way ALL cylinders had water in them. so i figured heads or intake manifold due to water ingestion and steam coming out valve covers correct?? is there a proper way to test intake manifold or the heads?

" ALL cylinders had water

" ALL cylinders had water in them. so i figured heads or intake manifold due to water ingestion and steam coming out valve covers correct?"

Not if the water got in from a backwash and got past worn or missing exhaust shutters. The only test I know is to fill the manifold water jacket w/water and see if it leaks out the exhaust holes.

"yeah i did that and both mani