Logo

How do I replace the bellows on my 4cyl Volvo outdrive

"Hello Group!

Got a LOT of

"Hello Group!

Got a LOT of help here a year ago when I first bought this boat. Coming back again as I now REALLY need help! Damn near sank the boat! I've got a 4" split in my main bellows, and I need to remove the outdrive to replace this part. My question is; how? I've had plenty of experience pulling Mercruiser outdrives....but never a Volvo. I stopped at my local Volvo Parts supply dealership, he had the bellows in stock, and gave me the simple directions of "pulling the screw at the top, then the 4 screws in front...and it will just slide right off." Clearly, it is a LOT more complicated than that! I have an '89 boat, an 18 foot Excel, with a 2.3L 4 Cyl Volvo motor. I can't see any real ID on the outdrive...must have been lost long ago. But, there is a plate on the front of the drive unit with 2 phillips screws. In removing this plate, I can see the shift bevels where the cable connect and is re-routed to the outdrive, and I can also see 4 bolts...but they don't appear to be large enough to be holding the outdrive on the boat. In fact, the outdrive seems to be supported by a large pivot built into the lower unit, and supported by some kind of yolk assembly. To me, it looks like all of that has to be removed in order to eventually get to the upper bellows. Honestly, I'm kinda at a stand-still, and would really appreciate a step-by-step process. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! Kindly, Tom Dickinson"

"You may be looking foe 4 Big

"You may be looking foe 4 Big allen heads. 2 under the cover pointing down and 2 indented in the exhaust/intermediate housing going up. This (and the cable) should get the upper gear case off with the bellows and u-joints.

On Bad bellows, Ive razored them in half so I could get to the clamps easier. You might want to drain the oil first.