Logo

Fuel pump kit check valve diaphragm difference

sliales

"50hp 1981 4 cyl. Original se

"50hp 1981 4 cyl. Original service manual & parts manual show only 1 check valve diaphragm used in the integrated fuel pump. the fuel pump kit for this motor (genuine Mercury replacement) now contains 2 of these diaphragms, 1 rubber and 1 not rubber ... tan fiber looking. The new pump exploded view shows both but not which one goes where. Same goes for the Sierra aftermarket kits ... they show both but not which one goes in 1st.
Anyone had this problem?"

"Re: Fuel pump kit: Note diff

"Re: Fuel pump kit: Note differences
288883.jpg
Use both? If so, in what sequence?

"Thanks for the reply JB, the

"Thanks for the reply JB, the problem is that I have been fighting fuel pump issues for a few years and has not run right all along mostly due to fuel starvation to 1 carb or the other. Originally there was only the rubber check valve diaphragm included in the fuel pumb kits and that is the way it came from the factory as well. Now they include 2 of them and they are of different material but never have I seen instructions on their order of placement. As you saw in that diagram you linked they simply show 2 of them labeled with the same ref number as if they were identical. I have tried using both and in different sequences but have had no success."

make sure your carb base gaske

make sure your carb base gasket is positioned correctly as to not block off the hole. Check compresion of the engine. Ask Graham (click on his name) he might have the factory manual on his computer.

Yes carb to head gasket positi

Yes carb to head gasket positioned with holes mated... 'been there .. done that' deal. Everything else is fine (new actually) and WOT while hand pumping bulb is 5200 rpm and starts great. Pretty certain problem is with check valve diaphragm(s).

"Sorry, didn't look at any