Logo

25 Horse Starting Problems

boondog

"Hello all, first post. I am n

"Hello all, first post. I am new to the boating world and recently picked up a 1996 Bass Tracker with a 25 horse Merc 2stroke on it. I sat recently but it was last year. I thought I had stored it correctly. Fogged the motor and put fuel stabilizer in the tank. Wrapped it up tight to keep water out. This last week I pulled it out and put the motor flusher on it and primed the motor a few times and she coughed a bit and fired right up. It smoked for a few minutes (fogging oil) and the water pump was working well, nice strong stream. Installed the new prop. My buddy and I figured all was well. Went off to the lake, did not put any fresh fuel in the tank. Got on the water and she started right up, idled nice. We took off downhill (15 mph tailwind) and got about three or four hundred feet and she coughed once, then it sputtered and stalled. Started back up and died again. Continued doing this til it refused to start at all. We were in the middle of the lake and seeing as how we were in the middle of the lake, we fished. Well that wind started getting worse and our anchor was slipping, unbeknownst to us. Well, I think we just hoped it would start magically for us. Nope. Wound up using the trolling motor the whole way back up hill, cold and raining and windy. Now on the return trip, our main battery died and we wound up just pulling all electrical off the batteries except for the trolling motor. Made it back to the trailer.