Logo

Broken rocker arm

uffeibhster

"Hi experts

Engine;
Marine

"Hi experts

Engine;
Mariner, 4-stroke, 4 hp, outboard from the 80's I guess.

Situation;
The engine keeps braking the rockerarm for the exaust valve. It runs ok at low revs/idle but when giving some throttle the exaust rocker arm brakes after app. 20 seconds.
It looks like the lubrication is ok. When I changed the rocker arm I set the clearance to 0,25mm.
Any suggestions are very velcome. If you need further info I will try and answer.
My thought is that it is not proper able to get rid of the exaust? Any comments to this?
I know a little of engines and have worked on mc and auto, but I have never worked on marine engines before and I have never seen a problem like this.

Thanks for your help
Best regards
Uffe, Denmark"

"Cam timing ok? Valve not hitt

"Cam timing ok? Valve not hitting on piston? Hasn't jumped a tooth/link?

Any recent work done? Valve/valve spring replacement, camshaft change? Coil bind is the first thing that comes to my mind. When the valve is fully open is there a gap between the coils?"

Thank you for your answer.
In

Thank you for your answer.
In the autumn the engine had a service before I bought the boat. I was planing to call the former owner and the shop who sold the boat to get more info.
I will do that and check with your comments asap.
Have a nice day!

"Does anyone have a repair man

"Does anyone have a repair manual for the above engine. additional engine info; Mariner, F4M 1999. S/N OR002078."

"stuck exhaust valve or bent,

"stuck exhaust valve or bent, I have no experiance with this engine. Lots of bad valve experiance."

"Hi
Further info on this;
Fi

"Hi
Further info on this;
First of all Graham Lamb informs that it is a '99 or '00 engine (year).
I called the Marine Center that did the service - they state that they only worked on the cooling system - nothing else. Sounds reasonable as the former owner says that there where no other problems (I trust that).