Logo

Low oil pressure idle amp tapping AQ145B

bigbobbyb

"Hello,

I am new to this fo

"Hello,

I am new to this forum and I've run into a situation that I thought I might run by you.

I have a 1986 AQ145B engine that ran fine last year, but when I started it this year, I hear tapping coming from the #4 cyl and the oil pressure is around 30lbs at idle even when cold. I haven't changed the oil yet from last year, but it is full and is clean/clear on the dipstick. I have run the engine for 20+ mins and the tapping doesn't go away, but is diminished when I rev the engine (the oil pressure also increases to 50 - 60lb range). Since there seems to be a tie to the oil pressure, I suspect the oil pump is not able to get sufficient oil to the cam/valves over the rear cylinder? I haven't done a compression test yet. I know in old cars, sometimes "sludge" develops at the bottom of the oil pan and it can block some of the oil pump intake. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated. Thanks."

"You probably have a bad lifte

"You probably have a bad lifter; with oil pressure that good I would say that your oil pump is good. More then likely you have hydraulic valve lifters, as they wear they fail to pump up with oil and cease to be hydraulic. You may want to perform a compression check to ensure that you don’t have a stuck valve and or a bent push rod. I am not an expert on Volvo engines and I am not sure if you engine has an over head cam or not."

"Corey, there are no push rods

"Corey, there are no push rods or hydraulic valve lifters on the AQ145B or any of the 4 cylinder Volvo AQ series engines.

Bob, when symptoms like you describe happen the first thing I would do is to is to check that the oil pressure transducer and the gauge are in good working order (you may have to use a Bourdon gauge to compare readings). Then, if the readings are OK, the next thing to do is change oil and filter. If the problem does not go away, then you know you have to pull the engine."

"Hello,