Logo

Need Help Identifying my Motor

fmurphy1

"I bought a motor recently and

"I bought a motor recently and the guy claimed its a 1986. Its a Mercury Mariner 75 outboard. Its black and its got some orange stripes around the cover. There are four spark plugs and up by the fly wheel im guessing is the serial number: 72973. Its got electric start and trim and tilt. What I need to know is whether its a two or four stroke and if its two which i think it is, what is the appropriate gas/oil mixture ratio? Any help would really be appreciated as I am very new to boating and motors in general.
Thanks!"

Look on the transom mount for

Look on the transom mount for a tag. It will have the serial no. on it. Mixture is 50:1

Oh yeah if completely forgot!

Oh yeah if completely forgot! The motor has the old steering cable stuck in it we had to cut it. What's the best method for removal?

"Moreover, I can't get thi

"Moreover, I can't get this motor to start without putting gas in the spark plug holes. Is there anything anyone would recommend to try and get this thing started. I added some stabilizer/fuel system cleaner with my gas mixture but it didn't seem to help."

"Ok, sounds like you have pick

"Ok, sounds like you have picked up a motor that has been sitting for quite a while. 1985 model.

Confirm the compression is good and you have spark at all cylinders before you spend alot of time on this motor chasing your tail.

Seized parts are all dealt with the same way - try some "liquid wrench" or similar product and then beat the hell out of them - when that down work move on to using heat from a torch and a bigger mallet

Forget snake oil in a can - you need to pull, disassemble and rebuild the carbs - throw in new kits and most likely rebuild the fuel pump while you are at it.

Also, when all that's done, pull the lower unit and service the water pump - can maybe get away with an impeller but would really go with a whole service kit including seals/gaskets etc.