Logo

New to Board Need HELP

hemiman40

"First of all, thanks for havi

"First of all, thanks for having me!!

Heres the problem. I have a 97 Johnson 115 Faststrike. I have been tackling this for two months, with no luck. Engine will crank fine, but will not idle for more than a few minutes, acts like it is dying of fuel starvation. The first time diagnosing, I disassemble enough of the lower cowling to see the sight glass, appeared that fuel pump was working. Second time, the engine WOULD idle, let it idle for 15 minutes on muffs. Took it out on the water, will not idle. I can keep it idling by pumping bulb. Even got up on plane and ran a short distance with buddly pumping bulb. Now it will not idle for more than a few minutes. Pulled fuel line off of carb and fuel was being pumped out, so appears fuel pump is working. I have changed plugs, fuel lines, primer bulb and thermostats. Also, just this week, the no oil light will come on and steady alarm will sound Please help!! If anyone has any ideas, and can get more detailed, sorry to be such long winded"

"With both No-Oil and need to

"With both No-Oil and need to pump primer bulb, the most likely is a defective air-pump in the VRO.
It may be the membrane, it may be the valve in the housing. You will only find out by taking the pump apart."

"Fuel pump or the pulse line t

"Fuel pump or the pulse line that drives the fuel pump.

Are you saying that you pulled the fuel line at the carb with the engine running and saw gas pumping out, or did you, for instance, just finish pumping the primer bulb, engine off, and decide to pull the fuel line to see if you were getting gas to the carbs? Makes a difference.

My bet is fuel pump. If the scene is this...pump bulb, start engine, engine idles...then few minutes starts to die, pump bulb again, engine idles and a few minutes later starts to die, pump bulb again...etc, etc,etc. You could do that all day long...then fuel pump."

"Hey Mort, are you a fan of ge