Logo

Considering buying a 35 hp force

bart67

"Hello. I have an 18ft inflata

"Hello. I have an 18ft inflatable with a 40 hp johnson outboard on it. It ran good last year then sat for a while. I recently went to start it with no luck. I had it evaluated by a mechanic and he said it has scoring on the cylinders. I am told it's not worth rebuilding. I am considering buying a 1990 35 hp force outboard. Any advise on what I should look for when purchasing a used outboard would be greatly appreciated. I have read some discouraging things in these forums about force motors. This one is electric start and fires right up but I have not run on the water. I can get it for about $500.00. I am new to boating so any thoughts are welcome.
Thanks,
Bart"

"Bart, there are basically 3 d

"Bart, there are basically 3 different "breeds" of Force motors out there.

Force started out as what was left of the bankrupt Chrysler outboard division that was bought by Bayliner. So early Force models were old Chrysler parts.

Some suggest that Force was an acronym which stood for From Old Recycled Chrysler Engines - true or not, it's applicable.

In the mid 1980's Bayliner was bought out by Mercury's parent company and Merc took over Force.

They found this to be the perfect way to dump discontinued Merc parts along with left over Chrysler parts - so the "second" Force is a Merc/Chrysler hybrid.

The third type is purely old Merc parts.

This one falls into the second catagory. It has a Merc (Walbro) carb (that's positive - but an old one), it has a hybrid CDI ignition - not good if it ever has issues - the CDI box alone costs almost 600 bucks to replace, the coils and stator are discontinued and were expensive when available.

Basically, this model MUST be viewed as "disposable", in that you run it until it quits and then throw it out because repair costs would be potentially more than a new motor.

Because of that, I would place the value significantly lower than the 500 asking price.