Logo

6768 Chris Craft

6768_cavaliers

"I have purchased two 33'

"I have purchased two 33' Chris Craft Cavaliers early this past fall. They where both in the water in 2007 and where winterized in the winter of 2007 since then there has been nothing done. They have twin 327 219hp. I am new to large boats and am not sure what I need to do come spring time is there a good manual or DVD out there or can someone talk me through it.
248172.jpg
248173.jpg
"

"You have the flywheel aft 327

"You have the flywheel aft 327F, which I think it the best small block Chevy motor used in Chris Craft boats. The only problem is the aft flywheel is low to the bilge in some boats like my 20' Sea Skiff, and it will scoop water and spray it around the engine box. Naturally the fix is to make the boat watertight, which I did.

These motors came with two different distributors, so check carefully to see if you have the Prestolite. If so I can reference you to places that even carry the small internal advancement springs, and of course, all the points and condenser, caps, etc., which you are able to get here on this site.

They take all the standard manifolds and risers, and are pretty simple and durable motors. There are numerous things to tend to such as impellers, to avoid problems. Bad impellers will not prime water into the motor upon startup. Also, bad pressure regulator valves will cause motor to overheat during low speed operation. I had a pair of these in a 1968 35' Chris Sea Skiff.

Be sure you put the plugs back into the water pump, and cooler. Be sure any stopcocks are closed too. Upon startup, look over the motor with a very bright light and if you missed anything it will be quite apparant as water will be squirting out.