Logo

Evinrude 40 HP oil injection warning system problem

C

Cy Williams

" Sirs:
I am looking for

" Sirs:
I am looking for information in regards to my evinrude 40 HP oil injection warning system. I am a mechanic and have consulted a dealer and am
not receiving the appropriate information in regards to a problem with my engine.

This is a 1994 model.

Have checked the system over and the oil mix is working properly, but, the warning signal still comes on and beeps. The engine does not overheat!
The Dealer says to unplug the wiring harness... This to me is not the answer.

If you can advise me on this I would certainly appreciate the help.

Cy Williams "

" Cy, I have replaced several

" Cy, I have replaced several of the warning horns in the control boxes themselves years ago, for the same problem you are describing. Also had warning horn problem when customer replaced the factory Champion spark plugs with NGK's, which created interference with the VRO (oil injection) pump. Also make sure you have the current VRO pump, it has a purple wire in its harness for power and has a grey "nipple" on top, as the previous oil pumps would send a false signal to the warning horn. Hopefully this helps. Do not "just unplug" the harness as problems could arise in the future when a component does fail. "

" Cy,
Darren's advice is

" Cy,