Logo

General Questions 1973 Johnson 25 Horse

jfont7

"Hi Folks,

I am completely

"Hi Folks,

I am completely new to the marine scene and I recently purchased a 73 Johnson 25 horse, model# 25R73A as to catch fish where I live in northern Wisconsin. The motor always takes about 6-8 pulls at the start of the day and one pull all day thereafter. That is okay with me and is not a big deal. I changed the spark plugs and the lower unit oil. The lower unit oil was about 20% or so milky color mixed in with grayish black. The motor shifts fine, but I realize that a seal must need to be replaced. I will get to my question(s).

1. On the lower unit oil, I do not have the money to bring it to have it fixed, so I was thinking of just replacing the oil every month or so, always keeping fresh in there. What do you guys think?

2. From what I have heard, most people running these old Johnsons run 36 or 40:1 instead of the 50:1 as to not scorch a cylinder. Sounds like solid advice to me, but what is the consensus here. I realize that I will have to replace plugs more often, but the NGK B8S only costs 2.19 a piece, so no big deal there.

3. The motor sometimes will stall when you idle down right before shifting in gear. Not a big deal as I usually leave it in forward all the time anyway.

Sorry for the long post! Thanks in advance for the help!

Jon"

"1. Buy a seal kit. Sierra kit

"1. Buy a seal kit. Sierra kit 18-2684 -- about $14, plus shifter o-ring and bushing for about $5 more. It's a bunch cheaper than oil. Whatever seal is leaking, it's going to get worse and it will toast your gearbox, if not from the lack of lube, but from sitting in the gearcase rusting your gears away. Not to mention what'll happen to the gearcase when the temp drops below 32deg.
2. 50:1 works fine. Not sure who 'most people are', but anyone running a richer mixture under normal conditions is wasting their money.