Logo

b71 40 hp Evinrude No Spark

boatwontgo

"I'm new to the boating se

"I'm new to the boating servicing world and at a loss. I own a 1971 Ski-twin Evinrude 40 HP motor. The boat was running, serviced and still running, sold, pickled, and sat for 7 years. I have cleaned the carb, flushed the fuel and checked the wiring but the motor will not start.

The motor turns over with sufficient speed (I assume) but no spark is generated, (actually very very weak spark on contact of plug wires to ground). I don't think my motor has a power pack which seems to be the cause of most people's problems. Also, the wiring schematic shows a vacuum/cutoff switch and safety switch inline with the ignition works so I tried bypassing them and the thing still doesn't spark.

I would suspect the coils or the little condenser next to the coils, because it's the only thing I haven't been able to eleminate/test. But at this juncture don't have a clue.

Please help, Thanks."

"Are you assuming that you hav

"Are you assuming that you have no spark because the engine doesn't run, or are you actually checking the spark? The spark plugs must be removed in order to check the spark properly.

Does the engine incorporate a instrument wiring harness whereas a ignition switch exists, or do you simply have a push button setup? Even if you have the ignition switch setup, is there still a kill switch button on the engine or elsewhere?

The spark at cranking speed should jump a 1/4" gap with a strong blue lightning like flame. Let me know what happens there.

You cannot use the spark plugs as a spark testing tool. You must have that 1/4" gap set up.

Spark Tester - Home Made
(J. Reeves)