Logo

Water in fuel F225

barnzy

"I have twin 04 F225 4 strokes

"I have twin 04 F225 4 strokes with 500 hrs, last monday did a full days trolling and ran 20 mins back to dock without missing a beat. Sat morning went to go out for a dive. Warmed up engines for 5 mins then went to move off dock and one engine ran rough then died. Checked fuel inline 10 micron filter, was almost full of water after almost 100hrs, was also almost an inch of water in the filter on the engine. Cleaned engine filter and replaced 10 micron filter, now idles fine for 3-4 minutes then seems to starve of fuel and cuts out. Where should I start next? VST? Injectors, fuel pump.

Note I live in a Pacific country with no Yammie techs and i have limited mechanical experience but have a very skilled mechanic brother in law visiting at the moment. Just thought id check here first before working our way through the next options."

"Replaced all filters, filled

"Replaced all filters, filled all new filters and used bulb to get pressure through system. Engine turning over but wouldnt start. High pressure pump is making a low speed quieter sound compared to the twin engines high pressure pump which is running fine.

Tried VST drain was a trace of water come out, total of a quarter of a teaspoon of water came out with approx a tablespoon of fuel. That was all that came out of the VST."

"Ran out of light to proceed f

"Ran out of light to proceed further last night, can the VST be flushed in place or do you need to take off and disassemble completely? Does the VST need to be pressurized after draining or will the HP pump do this as long as the low pressure pump is supplying gas?"

When I drained the VST should

When I drained the VST should there have been more fuel come out than about one tablespoon?

"Thanks for all your help Just