Logo

115 mercuries Not charging

nicknack2

Regular Contributor
"This is my fist post I’m new

"This is my fist post I’m new to boating, not disappointed just frustrated, here is my story, I bought a old Stamas (1969) with twin 115 mercury out boards(1971), I took it to the lake and ran it, one engine was running at around 4500 Rpm and the second was around 3400, I was a little disappointed so I took it in to the shop for a tune-up, in the shop they told me that it was going to cost me about $1600 dollars to make it run better, because I needed new stators(motors were not charging), carbs needed to be rebuilt and of course new water pumps and/or impellers, and they found out that two cylinder had low compression (top two cylinders I believe 80 PSI), so the mechanic said that I should not spend any money on this engine since is so old and with low compression, so I ended taking the boat back to the house and I paid $280 for 12 spark plugs and a compression check. Since I’m a somewhat mechanically inclined, I went to Marineengine.com and ordered 2 new impellers and 2 new stators, and installed everything, one engine is charging now and but the second one still not charging, here is what I think I did wrong on the second engine, while replacing the stator I took off all 10 screws from the fly wheel instead of just taking the flywheel nut and pulling everything at once(did not have a puller) I told the mechanic what I have done and he said that I could have installed the flywheel wrong(not at the precise original position) and that could be the reason why is to charging, before that I tried a different rectifier( a confirmed good one) without success, it did not charged, now a good rectifier and a brand new stator later I still not charging, the motor runs, but does not charges as soon as I disconnect the battery the engine dies.

Any ideas?
Is the mechanic right about the position of the flywheel?
What about the switch box?"

Mecahnic was right about any m