Logo

Small amount of water entered engine Compartment and now engine wont start

artaudio

"Hello folks,
I am a newbie b

"Hello folks,
I am a newbie boater and have recently purchased a 1985 Chris Craft 169 with a 2.5l OMC I/O motor. Everything has be running just fine until we were tubing and stopped the boat. Some wake water washed up over the back of the boat and then it entered the engine compartment. One of our friends noted that they smelled something burning but couldn't verify from what component it was coming from. From that moment on we were unable to start the boat. I found the ignition fuse at the dash panel was blown and replaced it with another fuse. But that one eventually blew as well. Before the fuse blew, I could get the engine to roll over but it still would not start. Then eventually the fuse blew again.

We waited a few hours and tried to start the engine again (after the water has evaporated) but this didn't help our situation either.

I have taken a volt ohm meter and have checked all areas and have verified that all tilt and trim relays are working as they should and the engine can still be turned over with the starter. I have disconnected the Module at the rear of the engine compartment and that didn't seem to make a difference. I have checked the points to see if they were shorting to ground (which they are not). I have disconnected the alternator and there seems to be no short there either.

I have found that when I remove the coil, I don't blow the panel
fuse. Does anyone have any thoughts regarding this problem?

My gut feeling is I might have a bad ignition coil. So I have purchased a new coil and will try to see if the coil is at fault.

Thanks for your time."

Follow up:

I forgot to ment

Follow up: