Logo

86 Force Outboard Power TrimTilt Part

R

rsilva

"So, I am new to this whole bo

"So, I am new to this whole boat thing. Before this summer the only thing I new about a boat was how to sit on one and look pretty--LOL! Anyhow, I purchased the boat a few months ago and it has been sitting at a very reputable boat mechanic for about 2 months. Apparently everything is great except they have been trying to find some "discontinued" part. I don't know all the boat lingo, but they told me they are waiting for the "base" for the power trim/tilt (hydraulic lift thing). I am not sure if they are taking advantage of me dollar wise or if they truly cannot find the part. For this concern, I have decided to take matters into my own hands! First question, is the hydraulic lift necessary or can you manually put the motor up and down. If so, how do you keep the motor down when in the water. And finally, where could I find this "base" part that they speak of. Nothing is impossible to find! I appreciate any and all help."

"One more thing, if possible,

"One more thing, if possible, can someone tell me the real name of this "base" part.

--Ms. New Boater"

"I don't mean to sit here

"I don't mean to sit here and have conversations with myself, but, I keep forgetting things.

...I am not sure if this pertains to my questions, but just in case, I thought I would let people know that it's a 125 HP."

"If your engine is a "Forc

"If your engine is a "Force" it is very hard to find parts for them, because they haven't made "Force" in about 10 years. My tilt (ram)went out a few months ago and there are none anywhere, The tilt will go up all the way but not stay up, so I have to put the trailing block in before in comes back down, but the ram for the trim still works. In most cases I've seen there are two rams one for tilt and one for trim. When they wear out they can't find them anymore and they can not be rebuilt."

"Apparently the tilt/trim are