Logo

Really thrown a loop on what year and model my motor is

trippster

"It is either a 1983 or 1984 M

"It is either a 1983 or 1984 Mercury Black Max 150 that says V1500 on the cowling. It is on a hydra-sports hull. I looked all over the motor for a serial number and cannot find one. the coil says P/N 332-5524A1 and the Carbs (3 of them) say Mercarb 1382-6425, and the part that clamps the motor onto the hull has a serial number 4967760. Sorry, I am new to boats if you cannot tell. Please help.

tripp"

"look on top of engine block b

"look on top of engine block between cyl. banks. You should be able to find a welsh plug,( 3/4 inch disk), with a # stamped in it. If the powerhead was replaced it may be missing."

"That plug has an 8 on it, I s

"That plug has an 8 on it, I saw it last night while searching for the serial for the 5th night in a row. And it has the blue striped cowl. Could you give me a serial from that?

Could someone give me a list of things in order from 1 to whatever I can do to get this motor running tip-top? I would appreciate it. I know car engines well, just not boat motors. Or boats in general.
happy.gif
"

"Oh, it runs BTW, it just soun

"Oh, it runs BTW, it just sounds like it is missing on a cylinder. I can rev it up to top RPM's, and then it starts to bog down. You have to choke the hell out of it to get it to start. I am guessing it is the 50:1 ratio on the mix? Thanks for all your help, I am trying to get it ready for the 4th of July weekend. I have yet to put it in the water. After running it, i pulled the plugs from both banks and the plugs on the 2-4-6 side were covered in oil, while the plugs on the 1-3-5 side were pretty clean compared to the 2-4-6 side."

"don't rev it without a lo