Logo

Rectifier location on 3cyl 90hp Mercury

P

Paul V.

"I'm having some electrica

"I'm having some electrical problems on a "new" old boat I just bought. This is my first boat and I'm still learning... It pops a starter motor fuse as soon as I connect it to the battery, I mean instantly. I checked and bought the right type fuses (SFE 20A) and replaced the solenoid, ignition switch and a voltage regulator--none of these things made a difference. I also bought a triangular/diamond shaped rectifier that is specked for the serial number, but I can't seem to find it anywhere on the engine... I have a generic SELOC repair manual for Mercury/Mariner engines but it does not show a physical location of it. Any idea where I might find it? The only place I haven't looked yet is under the flywheel it seems unless I'm staring right at it... can it be under the flywheel?

My Engine is 1995 Mercury Outboard, 2-stroke, 3-cyl, model# 90ELPTO.

Thanks in advance.
-Paul"

"remove the wiring plug from t

"remove the wiring plug from the engine, does it still pop the fuse? That 20 amp fuse is to power the accesories like the gauges, tach, depth finder and start relay. I dought the rectifier is the problem. Depending on the serial number, some have the rectifier and some have a alternator regulator. Here is a link, check out the different serial number and the electric picture
http://www.usboatsupply.com/Mercury_Mercruiser_Parts_Catalog3a.php?mc=01&ms=5830 &si=554"

"JB- thanks for your reply and

"JB- thanks for your reply and suggestions, I did in fact use these exact diagrams to purchase my parts except my serial #0G273410. link to diagram

So the diagram shows the rectifier #23 on their list as well as Voltage Regulator (#5)-is this the same as Alternator Regulator?