Logo

Bad cylinder head history

another

"5.7 Merc MPI's. Starboard

"5.7 Merc MPI's. Starboard engine has port cylinder heads replaced twice, starboard side head once. Now starboard side needs replacement. Both sides done under new boat warranty, second time with @300 hours. Seems like a lot of cylinder head replacements for a six year old boat. Mercruiser doesn't seem too interested. Anybody got any helpful advice on what seems like an on-going problem? I thought these were pretty reliable engines. Anybody?"

"Why do they have to relace th

"Why do they have to relace the heads? are the intake valves going bad?(tulip-ed)?
It has been awhile, but we had one boat that kept going through intake valves,one time in 12 hrs run time.
found the boat was over propped.
just a thought."

"allan,

thanks for the repl

"allan,

thanks for the reply.Low compression readings led to diagnosis. I'm not a mechanic but assume valves causing problems."

"sounds like the "root cau

"sounds like the "root cause" of the problem has not been fixed. Whatever killed the first head, continues to kill all subsequent heads because it has not been fixed. Running lean for example can cause valves to overheat and fail. Needs to get a complete diagnosis by a tech that can troubleshoot. We can start asking all the questions here, but a competent tech is going to have to enter the picture some point- if you aren't wrenching, your mechanic is going to love having you give him tips from an internet message board....

First Question they should ask you: What WOT rpm does your boat run at? The wrong prop can do it."

I second the prop thing but wo

I second the prop thing but would deffinately check into the fuel mixture sounds like a leaning out problem

"You guys are great for postin