Logo

Serial number info gray marine

myoldstuff

"Any info on serial number #26

"Any info on serial number #26 110702 would be helpful. Trying to date the one I just acquired, since I'm new at this posting thing I'm adding my regular email for you to respond.
Thanks for any help you can give
[email protected]"

"Jim,

Do you have a model n

"Jim,

Do you have a model number for the engine also?

Is it a 4, 6, or 8 cylinder?

The Handbook covers all the 4 & 6 cylinder models."

"The following came back from

"The following came back from Jim by email:
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Thanks for responding.
I've been able to find the following.
On the intake side of the combined cylinder block is a dime sized cast circle with the letter F cast in. Possibly a model designation, also cast above the intake port the number 19101--probably a cylinder cast part number. Underneath the crankcase is cast 19252. Flywheel 02143.
Thanks again for your input.
Jim<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Jim,

I can't tell from the casting numbers, maybe someone else can.

There was a Continental "L-Head" F model in various displacments, but without some additional info I can't say that is what it is.

I still don't know if it is a 4, 6, or 8 cylinder engine. Is there a Graymarine "nameplate" on the engine? That would have model number info.

You can post your response here.

Thanks.

mfg_gray.gif
"

"It's a 2 cylinder 2 cycle

"It's a 2 cylinder 2 cycle engine, 3 1/2" bore, 3 1/2" stroke, no plate just says Grey Motor Co. Detroit, Michigan on flywheel.
Jim"

"Ahh... okay...

That is a v

"Ahh... okay...

That is a very different Gray than I thought.

You will need to check on the OldMarineEngine.com website in the (click on the underlined text to follow)

Gray Motor Company - early 1 and 2 cylinder category.