Logo

New Boater Pls help W b86 125 force

86cobra

"Hey I'm new to the whole

"Hey I'm new to the whole boating thing and I went out and bought a 1986 Bayliner Cobra W/ a 125 force. The boat and motor are both exceptionally clean and were kept indoors since 86. The Guy I bought it from purchased the boat from the original owner last spring.

So I took it out for a shakedown run (previous owner said he had no problems with it) And some issues arose.

When i first got it into the water it ran great, I let it warm up, and hit a top speed of about 47mph. One strange thing i noticed it when i was priming it, the bulb never got hard. After about 10 minutes I was crusing around at 85% throttle, and it just shut off. Started right back up and ran fine. 5 mins later I dropped anchor, shut off the motor and raised it out of the water. I fished for about an hour, then i pulled up the anchor, lowered the motor and started it. When i moved the throttle foreward and it went into gear, it died. This happened about 5 more times. Sometimes it would die without even putting it into gear. Finally i raised the prop out of the water (water inlet holes still submerged) started it, put it in gear, gave it a little throttle, and lowered the motor into the water. it kept running.

Ran fine for a bit, then shut off at about 90% throttle. Wouldnt crank for a minute, then cranked and started, but died when put in gear. I had to start it the same way i did before (prop just out of the water, put in gear, give a lil throttle, then lower prop into water). I then cruised to another fishing spot, and shut off the motor for about 30 mins.