Logo

1966 60hp with no spark

butch

I have just inherited a 1966 6

I have just inherited a 1966 60hp vxl-12r that hasn't run in at least 2 years. I am new to outboards. the motor has no spark. does there need to be 12v power going into the wires on the Right side of the distributer (black box on back of motor. any help would be appreciated.

"If the spark plug wires lead

"If the spark plug wires lead out of the bottom of that distributor, the unit is a magneto. In which case you DO NOT want any voltage being applied to it. I email you a diagram of the type wiring system the magneto syystem would consist of."

Thanks Joe that helped a lot.

Thanks Joe that helped a lot. I have not worked with Magnetos much. What would I need to do to check the system to get spark. the points look good.

"Disconnect the wire that atta

"Disconnect the wire that attaches to the side of the magneto which leads to the engines wiring harness. Leave the wire attached at that terminal that leads upwards to the ignition points.

Remove the timing belt so that you can spin the pulley by hand.... clockwise as looking down at the pulley.

Remove the spark plug leads from the spark plugs and connect those plug wires to a spark tester. Set the tester gap to 1/4".

Clean the points with laquer thinner, acetone, tuner cleaner, whatever you have that would clean them thoroughly and leave no trace of oil etc.

Set the points on their high lobe so that a .020 gauge goes thru but a .022 will not.

Spin the pulley with your hand as fast as possible. The spark should jump that 1/4" gap with a strong blue lightning like flame.... a real SNAP!

If no spark, remove the dist cap and connect the spark tester directly to the coils high tension button. If you now have spark, in all probability the rotor is shorting out to the shaft it sits upon. In which case, replace the rotor.