Logo

1992 Johnson V4 115 hp

"Hi there,

I just purchased

"Hi there,

I just purchased a boat with a Johnson 115 V4 1992. Unbenownst to me, the VRO oil pump was not working and the warning system was disabled/removed/missing, and I ran the motor on straight gas. The motor ran for about 20 minutes, but then stopped suddenly. After cooling down it would restart. Took the boat to a local shop, and they made the diagnosis of a seized motor, and said the motor is not worth the expense/effort of rebuilding. The shop pulled off the heads and the exhaust cover and one can clearly see scoring on one of the pistons, but the other three appear intact Although one can only see the part of the piston that is exposed at the intake and exhaust ports, so there may be other damage hidden.

Can anyone advise what is the best way to proceed with this engine. Is it junk, or worth fixing? I am not a mechanic, but have tinkered with engines in the past. Am thinking that I might want to try to rebuild the engine myself.

My other thought is just to reinstall the heads and exhaust cover and just run the engine on proper 50:1 mix. Is this worth a try, or is this foolish?

Thanks in advance for any and all opinions.
150775.jpg
"

It is too late the damage is d

It is too late the damage is done.You need to find a good local mechanic that can do this work.Hopefully all it needs is 4 new pistons and I know this job is done for anywhere from $2000.00 to $3000.00 it depends on local rates .Where are you.

"In my opinion, depending on t