Logo

318 swap turned to a 360 swap need advice

"Well I sent a buddy of mine t

"Well I sent a buddy of mine to pick up an engine to replace my dead 318 while i was out of town and it turns out it wasnt a 318. Much to my surprise when I checked the plate it is a 360.

So what i have is a 1981 (supposedly) 360 that is going in place of a 1973 318. I have both engines complete with transmissions.

The original engine specs are as follows

model lm318bwr10/380
serial E193883

replacement

model mm360bwl19-718
serial e-593418

My boat has a 1" shaft if my memory serves, I am not sure if that matters

Now what I understand from the model numbers is that the transmissions have different ratios and that the 360 is the opposite rotation of the 318. Both Transmissions are velvet drives.

What problems am I most likely to run into with this swap, I am an outboard mechanic, but have limited experience with inboards and chryslers. Namely my only experience is with this specific boat which I have had for a little over a year.

Also any suggestions on resources for wiring information, the harness in my boat is most likely different than this one. I have ordered a service manual from this site but I am not sure how indepth it will be and I am in a time crunch to get his put together before the boat season hits in full and i dont have time for major work on my own boat.

Thanks for the help in advance."

"The replacement is a standard

"The replacement is a standard Left or counter-rotating engine with a Borg Warner transmission with a reduction ratio of 1.9 to 1.