Logo

SelecTrim troubleshoot

800stringerjim

"1st time so please be gentle.

"1st time so please be gentle. I am new to the stringer fraternity, and reading this forum has been helpful. The selectrim on my 305 v-8 800 is not working. I can hear the solenoid click when I activate the switch, but no movement. The owner's manual says its not owner servicable and the manual I bought (Seloc) only addresses the Ford v-8s. What is the order of going at the problem? I don't want to start tearing into it until someone who's done it before can tell me what will be flying out into my driveway."

"try a couple firm taps on the

"try a couple firm taps on the side of the electric trim motor housing (the motor is atop the hydraulic pump-blue cylindrical motor 2 wires running into it from the solenoids) sometimes gets them spinning, but it usually only brings temporary excitement and then craps out again a couple days later. If that gets it going, you need to disassemble the electric motor and clean all contacts, commutator bars,inspect brushes etc... a alocal electric motor shop will be familiar with that motor if you take it in. -
If that doesnt work, a digital multimeter and the knowledge to use it probably first order of business. If the solenoid clicks, you have eliminated all the wiring to the helm and shifter and the problem will be on the high current side of the system."

"James.
Been a long time sinc

"James.