Logo

Seeking El Pescador

"Hello El,

I'm new to t

"Hello El,

I'm new to this as of tonight...but in reading thru all the threads I could handle, I noted with high regard your responses. You clearly know what you're doing, and appear to have a wealth of knowledge. I hope you'll take a look at my post, and perhaps you can assist me as well. I've got over 40 years with internal combustion engines, and actually make my living at it!! I've 'fixed' everything from old Hemi motors to Harleys. I've never been much of 2-cycle stuff....but I'm not bad with 4-strokers. But...this problem really has me baffled!! If you're up for the challenge, I could REALLY use the help!! My email address and phone numbers are at the end of my post, and I'd really love to hear from you. Also, having been victem of being towed from the Chesapeake Bay with only a Failed set of Ignition Points in the past....I'd LOVE to know if there's an electronic Ignition system for the engine of mine as well. ( I saw your post about this on another entry). By the way...the engine is definately a 230B...it's marked as such on a Plate on the back of the Casting. So, while the boat's a '94, my local VP parts dealer is telling me it's the last of the '93 series of true Volvo Block engines. Perhaps you can add some information to that aspect of all this as well. Thanks in advance for your help. Kind Regards, Tom Dickinson"

"Thomas, your engine is a 4 cy

"Thomas, your engine is a 4 cylinder OHC VP, similar to the AQ131. Therefore, it will take a Pertronix 2842 electronic ignition kit with no problems. You can order it from a local autoparts store or contact Pertronix directly. If you type the number 2842 in the "search" function of the forum, you will find where other people got theirs from.

Once you install the kit, you will notice and love the difference. Make sure you also have a 12V, 3 ohm coil installed."

"Thank you!!....and thanks for