Logo

Montgomery ward seaKing

hillbilly

ok i just picked up a Montgome

ok i just picked up a Montgomery Ward Sea king that hadnt been ran in quit some time.
me a couple buddys workd on it for a couple hours and we could get to to start but not run. it was only runnin on one cylinder so i went up and got some new spark plugs for it the ones that were in it were j-4j we could get the bottom to spark but not the top one. even knowing that we had a good spark plug. but one of them said that sometimes one gets it startd and the other one keeps it running. That i dont know im not very good with motors. Any who i got new ones and they gave me j4c they said it was close and over the years they must have changed it.
i was told it was a 5horse but im not sure the guy is old. and we endd up breakin the fuel cap off. so if any one has one that is on a junker that they could part with. id pay to but with a resonable price. but the mod num is 74gg9012 and the SN is 91931 if some one could find out for me it would be nice thanks

Adam

cool thanks i gave them a call

cool thanks i gave them a call and they didnt have any and they told me a 47 johnson or evinrude cap would work and he gave me numbers too 2 guys that i hope might have one.

"Adam, you may want to start o

"Adam, you may want to start out with some basics before going out and finding parts. I noticed that you didnt mention the compression of each cylinder, that would be the first thing to check into in order to see if you have a viable motor. Next you need to track down your spark problem, which means checking out the ignition system, points, condensers, coils, plug wires. After getting compression, and good spark, you have to figure out fuel delivery. Take apart the carb, clean it, every nook and cranny, hole pathway. Use a small diameter wire to scrape deposits from all places were other tools can not reach.