Logo

Honda 50 hp has rough idle and boggs to full throttle

brokeleg

The rough idle seems like it i

The rough idle seems like it is running on 2 cylinders? It is a 2006 by the way. When I go to full throttle it boggs and sometimes dies. All you have to do is touch the key and it is running again. I do not have a shop manual but being a shade tree mechanic I decided I would take the carbs off yesterday and clean them with chemtool. I didn't find anything that made me believe they were stopped up. There was a green film in the bowls of the bottom two. Just not two much. It seemed to help with me cleaning but only slightly. Any ideas?

When you talk re-sync are you

When you talk re-sync are you talking linkage ajustment or does it have something to do with the vaccum

Carbureted motors " suffer

Carbureted motors " suffer " from sitting idle! Fuel today is not the same as it was 20 years ago and goes bad much quicker.That is to say that when they are left to sit with fuel in the carburetors then over a period of time a thin film / coating forms in the carburetor.That reduces the size of jets and can result in bogging.So take some advice and run the fuel out of the carburetors when you are done boating for a week or two.

Thank you JUST-IN-TIME. By the

Thank you JUST-IN-TIME. By the way in my area the dealers want $500 just to clean them plus parts. Good money for a 3 hour job. I may try it one more time with the book and some more knowledge thanks to you....

replace the jet sets when you

replace the jet sets when you rebuild the carbs. They form hairline cracks in them after several hours on the motor and will not run right.

"After the third time apart, i