Logo

Oilwater film inside valve covers

robinfrey

"during winterizing i noticed

"during winterizing i noticed milky oil/water mix in breather tubes. looked in oil fill cap and had the same in cap and on head surfaces. removed both valve covers and inside valve covers coated with milky film. but no water in oil. pulled 4 plugs, looked normal. engine running great. will be checking compression next weekend. any other suggestion? engine is 350/270 hsp crusader. raw water cooled, 450 hours. thanks."

"I have two 1983 454 CID engin

"I have two 1983 454 CID engines. I have noticed the same milky substance under the valve covers. Right or wrong, my mechanic told me it was just condensate build-up that probably results from not running the engine long enough to heat up and vaporize it. He was not concerned and advised to exercize the engines more. I agreed with his recommendation because it gets me on the water more.

Chuck"

"I am no expert but i have nev

"I am no expert but i have never seen any milky stuff under a valve cover that was not a problem. can see how moisture could build up enought to cause milky oil build up. I live in FL were humidity is king and have never seen that in any of my boat engines, 7 inboards in the last 20 years.

Suspect some minimal water leak. Several places since yours is raw water cooled. first is risers and elbows, second is intake manifold, third is head but that is a remote one if good compression.

Heads have cooling water ports that get blocked off by intake manifold. if gasket leaks then you will get some water in the oil.

Drain the block, pull intake off and check it out. install new gaskets and use rtv where it is needed. this is a very cheep and easy fix. 20 for felpro intake set, if it is not the problem then you only spent 20 and got to see what the cam looks like and other stuff."

"no offence stephen, but it is