Logo

AQ 151 WONT START WHILE ITS HOT

tjwc1

"Hello all, I am new to the wo

"Hello all, I am new to the world of Volvo Penta's. I have a AQ151 with a 290 outdrive. It runs and starts great. (WHILE ITS COLD) but if I go for a run and then shut it down. It wont start . I have to wait 15-20 min then she starts fine. This will also happen if I idle it for a while the go to put it in gear she will die and wont restart. Any suggestions Thanks TJ"

"When that happens again, and

"When that happens again, and with the engine in neutral, put the throttle lever between 3/4 and full throttle and crank the engine for 3-5 seconds; just be prepared to back the throttle lever quickly once the engine starts firing."

"El Pescador, Thanks for you r

"El Pescador, Thanks for you responce. I have done that,and all it will do is crank over, it wont fire. it has 1 year old points, condesor, cap. and plugs.It only has 10 hours since part were put in. It seems like it is Flooded. But also when it does start. It only starts as I let off cranking it. while i am cranking it it dont fire it only fires when i quit cranking.

thanks for your input

TJ"

"Thomas, I agree that it seems

"Thomas, I agree that it seems flooding. My old AQ140 gave me some challenges at the beginning, and the suggestion I made in my previous post always worked.

I don't know for how long you have owned your boat, or how aware you are of its history, or what maintenance you have done to it. A few things you may want to do include:

1) Get rid of points and condenser and install a Pertronix electronic ignition kit. You will be amazed to see how much easier your engine starts, even dusring cold and humid weather. Take the opportunity to inspect the springs and advance weights in the distributor.

2) Make sure the wiring from the ignition switch to the coil is in good condition. If questionable, replace it with marine tinned wire.