Logo

High RPMs but no power Mercruiser 4.3 Alpha 1 Drive

larsolr

I have a Mercruiser 4.3 with an Alpha 1 drive. Bought it last year it ran fine and it was winterized and stored indoors. I am a rookie at this.

This year it has run for an hour or so and worked OK but then it simply lost power. Won't run faster than 10 or 12 mph. I blamed this on ethanol fuel and and I replaced it. Ran Heet and sea foam through the system.

That didn't work so I have replaced the fuel filter, and had a reputable boat shop rebuild the carburetor. The spark plugs are in excellent condition. I even removed the anti-syphon device temporarily until I can buy a new one. The electric fuel pump easily sprayed a stream of fuel when I tested it(I don't have a pressure gauge).

So then someone suggested I have a spun hub. So I put it in gear, turned off the motor and tried to spin the prop. It won't turn at all in the counter clockwise direction. It makes a clicking noise when I turn it clockwise. Is that normal?

I am at my wits end because it starts right up and idles fine. You can take it up to 3000 RPM fine. But no power. Anyone have an idea? Will take it to a mechanic but it seems like everyone is guessing.

Hi, the clicking you hear is normal. It will click in the other direction if you put it in reverse. Nothing to worry about there. Can you clarify if the engine is reving and it is not moving through the water like it should or the engine is boggin out?

A rubber hub is best checked by marking the inner hub and prop with a punch mark, test running, removing the prop to see if the marks still line up.

A rubber hub is best checked by marking the inner hub and prop with a punch mark, test running, removing the prop to see if the marks still line up.