Logo

outside of the transon needs cleaned

texas60

Contributing Member
Hi all! newbie here, On the outside of the drain holes on my transom needs to be cleaned,can anyone tell me the best way the clean this rusty colored stain up?Actually my other boat has it too! Might as well do both of them at the same time........any suggestions will be much appreciated...I hope I dont have to repaint it if it can be cleaned up..........attached is a pic

Attachments

• 100_2095.jpg
    100_2095.jpg
    55.2 KB · Views: 73
There is a liquid cleaner called CLR (which stands for Calcium, Lime, and Rust) which should do the job. You can find it in most hardware stores. Be sure to re-wax the area after it has been cleaned.

Thanks chawk_man much appreciated,I had a feeling that there must be something to clean it. I have the same thing on mt Larson too. Both boats have been only used in fresh water, never been in salt water, but they have been like this since I have bought them.The one that is in the pic is my 19 ft.Cobalt and I had just bought it and it had been sitting in a farmers old barn for the last 20 years and I am just trying to get it back in shape,I will be doing all the teak wood next. The rest of the outside of the boat is in excellent shape(paint is like new,just need cleaned) no scatches........any way thats for your help

Hope that helps. if not, get back to me. There are other more harsh alternatives.

Can you determine the source of those stains? They look pretty nasty. If the stains are coming from the scupper pipe itself, then consider replacing them with brass.