Logo

Synthetic 2 cycle marine oil

Hello guys, I am a new member and fairly new to boating. Fortunately I am a good mechanic and see no problem working on boat motors. My question is this, I use synthetic motor oil in all of my cars, trucks, and motorcycles and I firmly beleive that it really helps the longevity of 4 cycle engines.
So now I have a boat that was given to me, and have found a nice little 1976 55 hp Sea Horse motor to go on it, I am wondering if synthetic 2 cycle oil is all that beneficial in that type of motor.
Since a 2 stroke basically burns up the oil, it seems to me that synthetic oil being more expensive than standard marine oil may be a waste of money.
So does anybody here use synthetic marine oil and does it make a difference?

Nothing that's going to make you go "Wow, I'm glad I spent the cash on that stuff!" But some synthetics will help in smoke reduction. I'm with you that synthetics are the way to go, and I run it in everything I own. If I was to recommend a synthetic to you, it'd be Amsoil. It's not going to hurt you, but you might question the validity of the cost differential. All I can tell you is go what you're confident in. If synthetics are the way you do your dance, then there's no reason to change the steps of the dance. Know what I mean?

----------" A 2 stroke basically burns up the oil "--------------Not sure what is meant by that statement !!-------- Oil in a 2 stroke lubricates parts the same way as it does in any machine.-------It coats all the parts in order to lubricate ( seperate ) the moving parts.----After it is done that job it is expelled from the motor and seen as smoke.