Logo

volvo penta ignition switch problem I think??????

mustang67

Hi

I am having a problem with starting my Reinell 2002 with 5.0GL Volvo Penta. From the ignition I can start it and it will run, but as soon as the key goes back to its normal position after the start procedure the motor dies? The ignition cutout toggle is in place could it have something to do with this or is there something simple happening or I have missed that I am unaware of?? I am new to this boat and engine. Has anyone else ever had this problem? Alternatively whats the easiest way to bypass the kill switch to see if that is the culprit?

many thanks in advance

I have experienced electrical problems many times in various boats. The absolute first thing that I do is to clean every electrical connection. I removed every connection (one at a time), lightly sanded it, inspect to wire for corrosion and re-install. Remove every fuse and sand the blades or ends too!

You said you were new to the boat so it would be high on my list. Regardless on the climate you live in an eight year old boat can have wiring issues. There is a great book called the 12 volt Bible which I consider a great addition to a boating library AND if you do not have an engine manual take a look here and order one http://www.marineengine.com/manuals/volvo/index.html

Trust me from experience (way too many years since I was a kid and I am 55) I have learned that having the proper manuals on hand and reference books are the best.

I would not try to bypass a safety switch but I would get a multi meter to check it. Order the manual and get a multimeter and you can be in business the "right way" really soon.

Good luck with your quest and I like to do things the right way.

Last edited:
You can test most kill switches with a jumper lead.