Logo

MERCURY 98 110

rob

Does any body know where I ca

Does any body know where I can get a maintenance manual for my Merc 9.8 (110). The only ones I've been able to find are for very broad ranges of motors and not specific to the 9.8. If you know of anywhere that I can get one please let me know. Thank you.

The Seloc Manual Volume 1 196

The Seloc Manual Volume 1 1965-1991 list many different models. It does go into detail about the 9.8. I use it to work on my 110 and 200 aka 9.8 and 20 hp. Try it. It is very good.
Good luck and Have fun on the Water.

Thanks for the note. Are the

Thanks for the note. Are the books easy to follow? I am not experienced working with the motors but would like to be able to do maintenance on my own. Am I being realistic?

Very easy to follow. It give

Very easy to follow. It gives step by step instructions. Just take your time and double check everything.

Good luck and have fun on the water.

" Thanks Merc Dude. I'm go

" Thanks Merc Dude. I'm gonna do it. On an annual basis, what are the most common tasks that I should be performing?

Also, this engine hasn't been serviced in about 5-6 years and has had moderate use in that time. What should I be looking to do given that fact? "

" I would first replace the wa

" I would first replace the water pump impeller, replace the fuel filter, and test it. It may have fuel related problems from sitting up, but try it first with fresh fuel. Change the lower unit oil at least once every season. When the fishing season is done, make sure you run some fuel with stablizer in it. This will keep the fuel in the carb from gumming it up.

Good luck and have fun on the Water "

" Sounds good. The Seloc manua

" Sounds good. The Seloc manual is the one for 1-2 cyls. right?

I now have the serial # but when I go to the Merc site it won't show me info. Maybe it doesn't go back that far?

I was hoping it would work so I could see the appropriate part #'s. Does the Seloc manual include part #'s???